VOTE: What’s My Next Line For the Line by Line Contest?

3 Feb

I am still in Karin Tabke’s First Line Contest. Pretty cool, huh? We’re down to the top 35! And so, without further ado, my lines thus far:

 

Seven lockers down, my boyfriend was making out with Cheryl, the way-too-perky head cheerleader.

I tried not to stare, but when his hand slid past her waist and over her hip, I slammed my locker shut and stormed off in the opposite direction. Not that anyone noticed. The problem – not only was I that gorgeous jock’s secret girlfriend, I also had a secret power.

I’m invisible.

OK, not invisible invisible. But, in the not-so-mythical land of Highschoolia where blending in equals obscurity, I rated a negative seven JD on the Jane Doe to Lindsay Lohan visibility scale.

 

At the moment, I have two potential next lines (of course, that could change if I come up with something funnier than paint.) This is kind of like Choose Your Own Adventure on the Luv YA blog. So:

 

LINE A: Four more points and I think I might have been able to walk through walls.

OR

LINE B: Not that I minded – well, typically.

 

So, let me know – A or B – or the both stink, keep working it Bri-lady 🙂

5 Responses to “VOTE: What’s My Next Line For the Line by Line Contest?”

  1. aj chase February 3, 2009 at 9:10 pm #

    I like A better.

  2. Imogen Howson February 4, 2009 at 6:55 am #

    I like A better too.

  3. Allie February 4, 2009 at 1:17 pm #

    The Doe-Lohan scale is hilarious, and I like that A builds on it. But B has more forward movement into the story/character, which I like a great deal. You’d have another sentence starting with “Not that,” though.

    Hm. I’m torn. Good luck–I’m so glad you’re still in!!

  4. Celise February 5, 2009 at 6:40 pm #

    I vote for Line A

  5. tiemeinwords February 5, 2009 at 10:40 pm #

    A, definitely. And hi. I’m browsing your blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

