Make Your Own Word Notebook & Other Stuff

18 Nov

The Word Notebook is gone and It is a tragedy after slowly accumulating all the info in there for years.  But, onward and upward. It was a great tool and so I’ll be making another one. I’m challenging you to make your own along with me.

 

HERE is a description of the notebook I used.  Sometimes they aren’t easy to find. I got another one at the Blue Tulip this weekend. Any little notebook that’s divided into 4 to 5 sections should work. I bought the medium size AND the large one. Why? Because I’m never losing that darn thing again and I need the medium one to travel around with me where I’m writing. So, grab some type of divided notebook – there’s tons out there, and come back Thursday for your first step in creating your own Word Notebook along with me.

 

I’m not a huge tools person. I’m that girl who always thinks they look like a lot of fun and then try to use them and never really learn anything. Some are good checks for if I’m on track, but really, the only tools I use are my Word Notebook and Edit Cards.

 

Which brings us to the Edit Cards.

Yes, I’m still working on them. I put them aside for a little while to finish a project I need to get done. Actually, 2 projects I need to get done. One isn’t even for me, so I need to get my butt in gear and finish it.

 

AND, Finally —- I WON! I WON!  I have proven over at YA Edge that I KNOW how to procrastinate. Sela was there, she watched it happened and basically laughed her butt of at me as all the chat newbies were like, “so you’re writing about a museum? No, a nymph? No, an artist? What the heck are you writing about????” Thanks to Sela for understanding that Research Is A Drug.  And thanks to YA Edge for appreciating my lack of focus… I mean, my Insane Researching Skills!

4 Responses to “Make Your Own Word Notebook & Other Stuff”

  1. Stephanie Secrest November 18, 2008 at 10:13 am #

    You’re really going to make me go out in the cold and get these stupid notebooks, aren’t you? 😉 I’m lucky if I make my goal of getting to the dry cleaners (at the end of my block) and laundromat (two blocks down) today.

    I don’t handle cold well. 🙂

    So the word notebook is a collection of words, right? If so, I may do two. One for normal stories. One for when I get back to writing my cyberpunk.

  2. briaq November 18, 2008 at 10:59 am #

    Hey Steph –

    You probably won’t need a seperate one, you might want to find a notebook with an extra section, or split a small section in 1/2

    Don’t worry – it’s gonna be fun!

  3. Celise November 19, 2008 at 3:48 pm #

    I’d like to get in on this as well because I know there are a lot of words I need to get away from using. You mentioned the Blue Tulip. Is that a stationary store? The name of a type of notebook?…

  4. briaq November 19, 2008 at 10:30 pm #

    Yup, Blue Tulip is a stationary store. I’ve been told that you can sometimes find the colored edged notebooks at B&N or Borders also.

    OR, they now make little notebooks with tabs. Those will work too.

    Don’t worry. Prework is going to come first 🙂 so jump in with us tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

