NaNo Insanity

10 Nov

This is my first time doing NaNoWrIMo. That should come as no surprise to anyone who knows me since I’ve only been writing about 2 years at this point (not including all the writing years ago before the Great Fire that robbed me of all my work and the stuff I was looking over for friends — not the point).

 So, what is the point? Oh yes, NaNo. I’m feeling a bit woozy b/c not only did I say, “Sure! I know I just fast drafted last month, but I’ll do Nano.” I said, “And I’ll write this little Rom Com in two weeks so I have the second two weeks to polish the first 50 and ship it off to the Golden Heart.”

 Discuss my insanity amongst yourselves here.

 But, here’s what I’m finding: This is Fast Draft for me —> 14 days to 65K first draft, so I know I CAN do it if my Two FD’s In A Row Brain doesn’t short circuit. But the really amazing thing is my NaNo buddies. I love having those little progress bars. When I’m sitting in Tubfia (where Tubfi is available) and thinking I can’t write one more word, I go update my Nano counter and peek at my buddies. I have two who are pacing pretty much the same as I am. When I glance at them and see they’re outpacing me so far I may not catch up, I think – Look at them go! If they can do it, I should be able to, too! Jolt of NaNo energy.

 I’m so impressed with this Buddy Page that I wish I could have one for all my writing pals year round. The camaraderie of just KNOWING they’re plugging away too supports me in a way I hadn’t expected. I mean, you talk to them (and even Twitter them now!) so I know their working their little butts off, but I typically don’t see anything from my writing friends until they hit a rough spot or their done. Not so with NaNo buddies… Watch their little bar go! Be inspired! Share the encouragement!

 Did you join the NaNo cult?

8 Responses to “NaNo Insanity”

  1. Norma November 10, 2008 at 12:54 pm #

    Awesome!

  2. Kaige November 10, 2008 at 1:11 pm #

    Well, my little progress bar sitting at zero this year must make you feel all sorts of superior! LOL

    Just kidding. I’m cheering you on, even if I’m not running along beside you!

  3. briaq November 10, 2008 at 6:05 pm #

    Thanks Ladies!

    Yes, Kaige. The only thing that makes my life feel filled with meaning is seeing your zero *snort*

    As if I didn’t know what you were working on anyway 🙂

  4. melsmag November 10, 2008 at 9:54 pm #

    I know exactly how you feel. I often check in, just to see how the others are doing. And wooo to you!

  5. WhatACard November 12, 2008 at 10:20 pm #

    It’s so funny, I rarely check others’ word progress bars. Just to know you’re pretty far ahead of me 🙂 Hey, I’m cool with it…I’ll get there. Eventually!

    What I love about NaNo is that others are committed to the same crazy project.

    The write-in was fun tonight (see, I told you I’d check in on you!)

  6. briaq November 12, 2008 at 10:44 pm #

    Wow you’re fast – welcome 🙂

    Randy – I’m so stealing the report card in the near future!

  7. jabberwalky November 12, 2008 at 11:25 pm #

    I also find myself wishing for progress bars year long.

  8. briaq November 14, 2008 at 9:18 am #

    I’m back online and trying to come up with a way to have progress bar page just for us lol

    It isn’t looking good today…. I haven’t even started piecing the Weekly Round-Up together from my notes!

Leave a Reply

