Girls and Goals

1 Nov

I thought looking to you amazing Twilight readers would be a great first step for this online discussion because I’ve found that you (as a group) seem to be well read in general and well versed in the Twilight world.

 

So, here is my question: What is Bella’s goal?

 

I mean overall goal. What is it she wants most in the world. Not the things that change and shift throughout the story, but the goal of Bella the girl. When she first arrives on the scene, and comes to live with her father, we see her most clearly in some ways because its then that we see her as a single entity. Pre-BellaAndEdward. So, as a person, alone, what is it Bella wants?

 

My second question is: What goals are you SICK SICK SICK of seeing in books. I know the lighter RomCom books that take place in high school settings sometimes rehash goals….but hey, in high school our world is locked down by the environment, so it isn’t a surprise that we all want similar things. Are you tired of bad boy must get out of town and seeks scholarship OR plain jane wants to be homecoming queen?

 

OR, what about YOUR goals? What do you want? What does being a high schooler in the USA today make you crave?

 

Not a high schooler? Well, think back – what did you think you’d die if you didn’t get or get to do? What about in books – what characters drive and goals really has spoken to you?

Tell me. This writer not only is listening, but is dying to know!

10 Responses to “Girls and Goals”

  1. The Twilight Store November 2, 2008 at 12:12 am #

    I think Bella’s goal is always the happiness of her family. Who she considers family changes through the books, but it is always her top priority. She is selfless when anyone is unhappy or in danger.

    When I was in high school, I longed for a place in my life where I wasn’t waiting for something (ie end of term, high school graduation, college, marriage, kids, etc). I have only recently gotten to that place – I am married with kids and just enjoying each moment instead of looking forward to the next big thing.

    Thanks for listening!
    M of http://www.TheTwilightStore.com

  2. Emily Ryan-Davis November 2, 2008 at 8:59 am #

    It’s been a few months since I read TWILIGHT and I haven’t returned to the world of angsty teen love yet, but what I remember of pre-EdwardandBella is a teenager who was looking for some love of her own even if she didn’t know it. She wanted her mom to enjoy the thing with her new guy, but in a lonely sort of bitter way that said (to me) Bella was ready for a complex relationship with her own guy. Her relationship with her dad was sort of the same way; she couldn’t help but look at him as a romantic (not romantic to her, obv., but a man who had once been in love with her mother and hadn’t moved on).

    I believe it came down to experience motivating Bella. She wanted more experiences and she was unhappy, in the beginning, with going to this backwoods town that didn’t offer the promise of experiences.

  3. talesfromthecrit November 2, 2008 at 10:19 pm #

    I know nothing about Twilight. But when I was in high school I had very few goals. I wanted this one particular guy, I wanted to act, I wanted to write and I wanted to go home. I didn’t have any particular desire to take that stuff to the next level either. I wanted to write but I didn’t have a goal to publish. I was one of those few weirdos whose name was in the UNDECIDED column of the final senior edition of the paper.

    AJ

  4. melsmag November 2, 2008 at 10:25 pm #

    Well, I’ve never read Twilight so I’m not too sure I’d be able to help with that.

    In high school, I wanted to be noticed for myself, not for who I hung out with. I wanted to be liked for who I was, not for what I could do for someone else. More specific goals: I wanted to go on archaeology digs and to write a novel and I wanted a boyfriend like any other girl.

  5. Chuck Bussey November 3, 2008 at 8:14 am #

    I looked at it after the chat room where you mentioned it. I had to think about this some.
    For background, I’ve always said I was born without an ego. I never had anything to prove. I coasted pretty much where ever I went. I was in advanced classes but wasn’t a nerd, I played sports but wasn’t a jock and I loved computers but wasn’t a geek. I had a lot of friends but being popular wasn’t important.
    My biggest frustration came from underclassman thinking they had something to prove, especially the jocks. Maybe think they could play with more intensity or aggression or go after your girlfriend.
    My behavior was so well ingrained that I am the smae today. I see the world through rose colored glasses and am confident in what I do that what others say or think doesn’t bother me except for DW and DS….
    That’s me …!

  6. briaq November 3, 2008 at 8:34 am #

    I”m finding this all very interesting — I mean, when we’re constantly hearing the cry EXTERNAL CONFLICT EXTERNAL CONFLICT — yet i’m finding it no surprise that most high school goals involve internal conflict.

    Thanks everyone – keep ’em coming!

  7. Celise November 5, 2008 at 11:20 am #

    I haven’t read the Steph Meyers’ books, but when I was a teen, I thought for sure I would die if I didn’t have something to read. I barely graduated from high school because I read so much (adult romance books). To this day, if I don’t have something to read, or at least a stack of books WAITING to be read, I go thru withdrawal. Seriously. Reading is my addiction and I’m like a junkie feenin’ for a fix if I’m not reading.

  8. briaq November 5, 2008 at 11:29 am #

    I’ll be arranging the intervention….and, um… taking all those books with me *wink*

  9. Unhinged (Andi) November 6, 2008 at 11:45 pm #

    Well…I am a TWILIGHT fan, Bria. Still finding it a tad difficult to admit that because I’m like, 40…but nonetheless. Bella’s goal? Before she met Edward and life as she knew it changed?

    To endure. From what I’ve read, Bella is caretaker. And one of those souls who is older than the norm–a Pieces, lol. (Yeah, but she’s a Libra, right? I think.)

    So before she met Edward, I think Bella was a tween coping with life as she knew it best.

    AFTER she met Edward? Her goal was BEING with Edward. Her goal was loving–of LOVING someone.

    We all want to find someone to love. (I think someone finding us to love is secondary, for what it’s worth.)

    I think the act of loving someone else and showing love…risking a vulnerable [private, internal] part, putting that part out there and damning the consequences–risking it all–is what each of us is born to do.

    Otherwise, why live? Without love, we have no damn thing.

  10. briaq November 7, 2008 at 8:38 am #

    Awwww Andi. I’m sniffing here…. and wondering how to go out and find love!

Leave a Reply

