Fast Draft – Day 3

9 Oct

Some my my best “writing” happens while I walk. I’ve always told myself little stories in my head (and sometimes by accident out loud frightening mothers and forcing them to feel they need to clutch their children to them to avoid the crazy girl) so I thought I’d try using my MP3 voice record then go home, slow the speed and just type away. Thinking done ahead of time. 

 

And we’re done here. Right?

 

Not so much.  NONE of my players on my computer allow me to slow speed — a 48 minute recording took about 3 hours with the stop/rewind/replay/type thing going on.

 

I know understand what people mean when they New Englanders talk fast. I talk fast – and I’m nothing compared to most people I know being a Mid-west/New England mixed-breed. So, it’s obviously time to do a freeware search for yet another player.

 

In addition, I got my 20 pages done and finally got to rest my head on my pillow. As I drifted to sleep, I shot out of bed shouting (or at least thinking really loudly) “I know where the story starts!!!”

 

And so, there’s 60 pages that no one else will ever see. I’d like to tell you they’re brilliant and you’re missing out, but I’m not much of a liar.

2 Responses to “Fast Draft – Day 3”

  1. verbivorehere October 10, 2008 at 4:24 am #

    “I’ve always told myself little stories in my head” – happens to me too! nd gee thats a wonderful thought to record it and play back 🙂

  2. briaq October 10, 2008 at 2:15 pm #

    I’m finding that getting myself away from the keyboard has been helpful when blocked – let me know if it works for you too!

Leave a Reply

