Colin Firth — OR, How To Explode Your Blog

9 Oct

I found this fascinating.

 

My friend AJ has a great blog about her life as a writer and other stuff that pops into her mind. Last week she blogged about Hollywood announcing they will be remaking “My Fair Lady” (the ONLY thing saving this in my opinion is the amazing Emma Thompson seems to be singled out to write/direct (or maybe not by now 🙂 )

 

So, AJ asked (and I’ll ask too) who would be your Henry Higgins (darn those double H’s. Poor Eliza.)

 

The overwhelming response: Colin Firth.

 

I’m a huge Colin Firth fan and I completely agree – but, my vote would have leaned toward Rupert Everett. Not the point.

 

The amazing point is this: AJ has been doing a rocking job blogging about her life as a yet-to-be-published writer and then this one quick blog mentioning Colin Firth, and her numbers seemed to explode – and the fans. You’d think there was no other actor in the world. 

 

So, what makes a phenomena. I know I still get several hits of people looking for “Twilight” information above any of the other books I’ve discussed. What makes people relate to a book or actor or musician on such a personal level that they spend time following them, researching them, voting on sites for them?

32 Responses to “Colin Firth — OR, How To Explode Your Blog”

  1. aj October 9, 2008 at 10:25 am #

    Thanks for the props Bria, lol.

    You know, I’m not sure what makes a phenomenon. Obviously it’s a person or a product (book, movie, etc) that manages to make people relate. Nothing creates devotion in a person like the ability to relate. As writers we want people to feel that way about our characters. I don’t know that I want to create the exact phenomenon of Twilight or Dark Hunters but we want people to be able to connect themselves to what we write. I wish I knew the secret because I’d be made of awesomeness right now. But the thing is I think most of these people stumble on to this stuff by accident. We just have to keep pushing until we accidentally make the same connection.

    AJ

  2. Shanna79 October 9, 2008 at 1:41 pm #

    Well the explosion of Colin Firth post was kinda my fault. We diehard Colin Firth (CF) fans have him on our Google alerts. I get between 10 and 20 alerts about him a day which is how I found this blog. I’m a member of several CF fan groups on yahoo, msn, etc… so I posted about the blog and within a day you have tons of messages. We really want CF to play HH. A couple months ago I gathered an on-line petition for anyone who wants CF to play HH. I received over 100 signatures. I mailed it to the producers and CF himself. I received a response from one of the producers thanking me for it and saying they haven’t started to cast that role yet, but CF is on their list.

    Anyways, why do I love CF? It’s rather difficult to describe. There is just something about him. The way he smiles, the way he talks, the way he walks, his unrulely hair, “the look”, etc… He just oozes sex appeal. I could go on forever, but I will let one of the other ladies explain further.

  3. briaq October 9, 2008 at 1:48 pm #

    Hi Shanna!

    Thanks for stopping by – I’m so glad to hear AJ’s blog hit your radar – We’ve been fascinated about what makes people relate to someone so strongly. Someone we don’t typically get a chance to “know” (although that mock interview at the end of BJD gets me every time tee hee)

    It’s that “something about him” thing you mentioned that all of us (writers) search for with words, try to make it clear and tangible on the page.

    I’m hoping I’ve hit parts of that with my hero in MARKBEARER. Since I know those visiting are playing along at home – I’ve blogged about how he does some shady stuff (he kidnaps a princess – drugs her, ties her up, the whole 9 yards) and yet everyone loved him, even before his big redemption scene — and the people I asked said that same thing — there’s just something about him.

    🙂

  4. Carol October 9, 2008 at 1:53 pm #

    My personal suspicion is that the Colin Firth Phenomenon is largely created by Jane Austin fans. I may be wrong, but I’m just judging by the popularity of Firth’s Pride & Prejudice movie. There have been so many versions made from the P&P novel, but none of them have approached the popularity of the Firth version. Whether the actor made the movie popular or vice versa is hard to say…

  5. Shanna79 October 9, 2008 at 2:06 pm #

    I agree that with a lot of people, like me, CF came to our attention via Pride and Prejudice. I knew of him before, but watching him in that movie completely changed my perspective of him. It was like a light blub went off. It was my OMG who is that moment. Since then I have bought all of his films on DVD and appreciate many of his other roles, but its nothing like the first time.

  6. Mary October 9, 2008 at 2:16 pm #

    Rupert Everett? You must be kidding!

  7. briaq October 9, 2008 at 2:16 pm #

    I actually stretch my CF fandom back to “Valmont” (great version of this story – go rent it) — and would say, as much as I love P&P, my favorite of him is The Importance of Being Ernest (greater movie – go buy it)

    Thanks for sharing everyone — Who else? What makes that special POP, that extra something that makes someone a phenomena?

  8. briaq October 9, 2008 at 2:20 pm #

    Um, nope Mary – I’m not kidding. I think he has the high handedness to drive it home and still be able to laugh at himself.

    I think he’d be great!

  9. Shanna79 October 9, 2008 at 2:28 pm #

    He is so yummy in The Importance of Being Earnest, I might have to watch that tonight!

  10. briaq October 9, 2008 at 2:31 pm #

    Darn it! Now I may have to watch it to night….must… fast draft….18 pages to write today…..ARG!!!!!!

    lol, Shanna, you’re definitely a woman after my own heart!

  11. Shanna79 October 9, 2008 at 2:35 pm #

    And he sings in it too. Can’t go wrong!

  12. Margo October 9, 2008 at 2:45 pm #

    Just my humble opinion.
    I vaguely knew the man ( Colin Firth) from “Bridget Jones” and”Girl with a Pearl Earring”.
    Yet, it was only in “Pride and Prejudice” i became a fan and start searching infos about him and following his career. Yet, i wasn’t a Jane Austen fan BEFORE his Mr Darcy, so you can totally put the blame of corrupting me in Austenism, too !!!
    The man has the versatility in his acting skills to totally nail ANY role, and a quiet almost underground sex appeal that it’s maybe not very obvious, yet once you notice it you’re hooked for good. Smouldering is one of his best skills also, and it should be added as a term next to his picture in any Dictionary.
    Plus, the more you learn about him, the more you like him….The man is almost impecable ! No scandals, fine husband and father, politically and socially concern yet with GREAT discreet. Sincerely, he has the whole package as an actor !

  13. Doris October 9, 2008 at 3:06 pm #

    Well, I don’t really know what is so fascinating about this man, I think it’s a lot, his body language, his looks, his gestures, he is alterably(?), he is very wide ranging,he can play every character, he lives his dream of being an actor and we, the audience, feel that, his outward appeareance(?) is just breath-taking, I love his eyes, I love his voice, he’s just fascinating and because he can succesfully hide his private life, he is also kind of mysterious, what do we really know about him, except the things you read about in the newspapers(ECO, OXFAM…)?????
    In my opinion these are the reasons for us, loving this actor. We don’t know a lot about him and he just “magnetizes” us, hope this phrase exists in the English language, otherwise I just invented it right now .
    “Colin Firth is like a magnet/solenoid and I am the iron 😉 know what I mean?????? ”

    (Sorry about my English, I am German,so you see, Mr Firth is also international 😉 )

  14. briaq October 9, 2008 at 3:12 pm #

    You’re English is great Doris!

    I read/heard somewhere years ago roughly that he didn’t understand his “sudden” popularity because how was it possible for an aging, middle-age man to become a sex symbol.

  15. briaq October 9, 2008 at 3:25 pm #

    So, it seems, reading this that the “phenomena” phenomena is fairly intangible.

    I mean, there are other guys as good looking or better. Roles almost as wonderful as Mr. Darcy. Men who are just as good husbands and fathers, but it seems Mr. Firth brings that something extra, that little something no one can seem to quantify.

    But it’s real. I mean, this proves it’s real, right?

  16. Shanna79 October 9, 2008 at 3:32 pm #

    Its real to us (his fans) and I guess that is all that matters.

  17. Jackie October 9, 2008 at 3:38 pm #

    I discovered CF in 1996 when P&P was shown for the second time on A&E network. My neighbor printed out about 6 pages from the internet, his bio and list of films on Imdb. The next day we went out and bought my computer, as after seeing all that amazing info about an actor I had never heard of before, I had to have a computer. Now I am on my third one, and still Googling CF. I belong to two fanlists and went to London to see him on stage in Three Days of Rain. After all these years he is still attractive to me, and I can’t wait to see his latest film. I have managed to make several of my friends Firthaholics and we get together for his movies. The best was when 16 of us went to see Mamma Mia. When it comes out on DVD maybe we can have a Firthfest at my house and watch it again. I am 83 and the show goes on.

  18. Marina October 9, 2008 at 3:43 pm #

    I was right in the middle before I knew it…
    I have been an Austenite ever since I first laid eyes on her books!
    And the Mr Darcy she and Colin Firth portray is exactly the Darcy I first fell in love with.
    But my admiration for the versatile actor started way before P&P was made into the mini series!
    I first loved him in Dutch Girls and Appartment Zero. I liked his body language, his looks and his great acting! His Girl With a Pearl Earring is a stunning example of his acting skills in my humble opinion!
    Apart from that, what I read about him, his humanitarianism, the way he still seems to be able to protect his loved ones from being exposed, his eloquence and wonderful use of the language, in short, the whole package (and what a package!!, even at 48) makes me a total Firthaholic!
    Colin Rules!!!!!!

  19. Margo October 9, 2008 at 4:30 pm #

    It’s me again….
    Just to add that they may BE a few as devoted husbands and fathers or skilled actors as Colin Firth, yet they stil have not the whole package.
    The man is a sheer pleasure to hear him in interviews speaking so eloquently and exressing his mind in such intellectuallity. It may be a personal preference, yet when i found out the “detail” that he actually learned to speak Italian for his fiancee’ sake ( now lucky wife) at the age of 36 – and he mastered it to a very great skill – he just had me by it !!!
    Every actor/director that has ever worked with him just praises his name ( with only 2 exceptions – Rupert Everett and Hugh Grant, yet this is another story) . And plus, he is not making a fuss about his name…
    He is still widely confused with Colin F…arell and he certainly lucks in recognition, fame, yet ….oh boy, trust me the ones who ARE aware of him are trully devoted till death !!! 🙂

  20. diane October 9, 2008 at 4:34 pm #

    I’m not an Austen fan, nor am I particularly enamored of the Darcy role (by Colin Firth). I am more into seeing him play dramatic, damaged, social outcast types. But that’s me.
    Ha, today happens to be my 17th Colinversary. The movie was Valmont shown on A & E and I’ve been a firthaholic ever since. (A term I happened to coin)

    Anyway, it is as you say, his appeal can not be quantified. So keep trying, if you will, ladies.

  21. aj October 9, 2008 at 4:53 pm #

    Oh, I loved the importance of being Ernest too. That’s a great one. He was very good in it Bria. I’m happy to have an answer to the mystery of where all these women came from LOL. It’s interesting that CF was my first thought for HH and so many other people’s as well. that should say something to producers.

  22. Hallemae October 9, 2008 at 5:14 pm #

    Colin’s appeal is to body, mind and soul. How can one man be so handsome, talented and caring? We don’t know how… we just love him. I fell first by watching Bridget Jone’s Diary and I have been totally smitten ever since.

  23. Denise October 9, 2008 at 6:43 pm #

    I was asked this by my friend’s husband. He has always respected and admired my intelligence and pragmatism, and is therefore stymied by this atypical obsession with Colin Firth. After thinking about it, I realized something. I have never been one to read so-called Romance novels. As a matter of fact, I would be embarrassed to be caught with one in hand… YET, I am a romantic at heart. I realize that since watching him in P&P in 1995, he has become my ‘Romance novel’ substitute! There was an article written about Colin years ago where the author called him the ‘Thinking Woman’s Crumpet’. This is so true! We who love Colin are strong, intelligent women, who have broken away from the Brad Pitt, George Clooney standard to embrace this lesser-known Brit! As a matter of fact, I would push BP or GC aside if they were walking down the street and Colin were behind them! … and I’m not alone! Many of us Colin admirers have NEVER been smitten with any celeb the way we are with Colin, and are quite taken aback with the effect that this man has had on us! My friends and family have learned to accept that I act like a 14 year old girl (I’m 57) at the mention of this man’s name! When I was in the audience at the Tonight Show, I became flushed when he walked out on stage, not 20 feet away from were I was sitting… and it wasn’t a hot flash!!! He has that certain something that defies logic. Then, as the others have said, add to that his decisions regarding his personal life, and the world at large, and yes… he is the whole package! Oh and I also became a Jane Austen fan AFTER seeing Colin in P&P!

  24. Johanna October 9, 2008 at 8:25 pm #

    Hmm How does one explain the Colin Firth phenomenon.
    Perhaps it started with Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
    All it took for me was … just one look
    At this handsome character from that Austen book
    Hardly a word was spoken to convey
    The passion his eyes spoke that words could never say
    Makes me wish someone would look at me that way
    But I digress so I’ll continue, if I may
    One great performance does not make a great actor
    Only if you stop to consider the Colin Firth factor
    He has talent and gorgeous looks, that could never hurt
    Would have been just as admirable even without the wet shirt
    Many memorable TV and screen performances which he did act
    To date, there have been over 55, as a matter of fact
    Has given his time and energy to promote many a worthy cause
    That alone, in my book, is worthy of a generous applause
    Perhaps there is no mystery and certainly not a secret
    That we are loyal fans who, 24/7, surf the internet
    For pix and literally anything Colin Firth our hands can get
    And yet, we are enamored with a man we have never met
    Perhaps one day, I’ll meet him and have him smile back at me
    Too much to hope for and certainly an impossibility
    So here I am hopelessly devoted and in a quandary
    To live out this Firth Fantasy as expressed in my poetry.

  25. Johanna October 9, 2008 at 9:32 pm #

    Hmmm When did it all begin this Firth phenomenon
    Perhaps, it started with Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
    For me, I know, it only took one look
    At that handsome character from a Austen book
    Hardly a word was spoken to convey
    The passion in his eyes that words could never say
    Wish someone would look at me in that way
    Now I digress, so I’ll continue if I may
    But one great performance does not make a great actor
    Unless you consider the all important Firth Factor
    He has talent, wit, charm and gorgeous looks which can’t hurt
    Would be just as admirable even without the white wet shirt
    In many memorable TV and screen performances, he did act
    To date, over 55 to his credit, as a matter of fact
    Devotes his time and energy to many a worthy cause
    In my book, that is most deserving of generous applause
    There is no mystery and certainly not a secret
    For pix and info we vigorously surf the internet
    To find something, anything about Firth our hands can get
    All for a man we have only seen on the screen and never met
    One day I ’d hope to meet Colin Firth and have him smile at me
    Too much to hope for and most certainly an impossibility

    But I remain hopelessly devoted to this phenomenon and in a quandary
    Forever mired in my Firth Fantasy as expressed in my poetry

  26. Johanna October 9, 2008 at 9:52 pm #

    Sorry for duplicate post. Thought I Iost original. Another one of my flaws…. forgot to save original. Colin Firth has that effect on me. lol dk how to delete this 2nd message.

  27. briaq October 10, 2008 at 2:07 pm #

    Wow, this has been great. I was going to write a follow up blog today, but I’m way behind on my writing. I’ll try to get to it next week.

    Thank you all you Colin Firth fans who chimed in! You’ve given me a lot to think about this weekend 🙂

  28. Celise October 10, 2008 at 6:03 pm #

    In one way, I agree with AJ when she says it’s the whole “relatable” thing. For me, it’s their work. Actor, actress, musician, author, whatever, if I like their stuff, I’m going to keep coming back. I love martial arts and action movies, so anything with Jet Li or Jason Statham, I’m there. I’m also a James Bond fanatic and am still holding out on the new guy.

    My fav group of all time is Linkin Park. I have all of their CD’s and there’s not a bad song on ANY of them.

    I love anything written by SARK. She’s an amazing author whom I’ve had the chance to meet twice and every time I do, I come away feeling energized.

    Adult romance books are my addiction and if I happen to like a certain author (Alison Kent or Carly Phillips), I tend to keep buying their titles.

    Again, it’s not so much relating to them, it’s their body of work.

    BTW, I think CF would do a smashing job playing HH.

  29. JJ October 15, 2008 at 11:49 pm #

    Hi there Bria, I had a similar experience in my stats when I posted about my sister in law and a group of girlfriends missing their flight in Brittany, France. They hitched a lift back to England with a film festival’s charter flight. None other than Colin Firth was on board, looking deshevilled and delicious!

    Some people are so lucky, no?

  30. briaq October 16, 2008 at 6:59 am #

    He seems to do disheveled and delicious particularly well 😉

  31. gugulethu October 20, 2008 at 6:05 am #

    He is a man without fault.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Phenomena Phenomena « Luv YA - October 13, 2008

    […] sharing their love of Colin Firth when she discussed the upcoming remake of My Fair Lady, I blogged HERE about what an obvious phenomena CF was. His fans showed up at both blogs in droves and I asked […]

Leave a Reply

