Authonomy – Time Sucker or Community?

30 Sep

I signed up for Authonomy.com today. I’d heard about it awhile ago and even thought I might put a short up there if it gets rejected.

 

But now, as I wade in, I see a huge potential for a lot of time spent there NOT writing.

 

The other hand of that situation is, if you get involved and bump up your ranking and post your novel — will it really get read? Could it make it into a HarperCollin’s editors meeting? Do agents actually browse the best of sections? Will you meet peers who may shape your writing life from here on out?

 

Before I get sucked in to far,  what are YOUR thoughts? Have you played around in the site? Do you think it’s a great idea or just another publishing stunt?

 

THOUGHTS?

2 Responses to “Authonomy – Time Sucker or Community?”

  1. Unhinged September 30, 2008 at 3:10 pm #

    I’d never heard of this place until I read it mentioned HERE.

    So I went and checked them out. It’s a new concept (for me) and it seems interesting. It looks like the blog was born in December of 2007.

    I’d want to poke around a while before I posted anything. And I’d also want to see feedback from writers who were published as a direct result from being involved with the site. They might be too new of a site to offer that, though.

    Reading online seems like a chore when I already spend my day on a computer–so the book I read had better singe off my eyebrows.

    I don’t know, them thar are my thoughts.

    Andi

  2. briaq September 30, 2008 at 3:30 pm #

    WOW! I’m so excited to be your “You heard it here, folks” blog for this! lol

    I’m still deciding too – I’d love to hear from some people who are/have been active over there….Is this the next generation of publishing?

Leave a Reply

