Off to Nationals

28 Jul

Tomorrow morning I step on the plane heading west to San Francisco – to RWA Nationals.

 

This is my first time attending, but not my first professional conference by far. Neither is it the largest conference but still I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed. Here are some of the things I learned at other conferences that I’m keeping in mind.

 

I’m in an non-writing industry that has as diverse a conference as RWA. Everyone at *said conference* either looks like kindergarten teacher or high powered business woman. Just like at *conference* I’ll be hitting RWA Nationals trying to balance somewhere in between.

  

People DON’T LOOK LIKE THEIR PICTURES. Ok, ok, I know what those of you who know me are saying. Not all of us will ‘pull a bria’ — I’m getting fairly famous for sitting down next to nationally acclaimed authors, introducing myself and asking them if they’ve published yet. *sigh* Watch what you say, how you act – I believe kindness should be your first response to everyone, but you never know what thing you may say and who may overhear it. 

Also, one of the things I remember very clearly is the burnout. Just like in life, you need to remember when to say when in a conference setting.

 

You may not be in the office, but you ARE at work. Having a Writing Career is just that, a career. Don’t blow it by crossing lines that you wouldn’t cross with co-workers.

 

Pens die or people sitting next to you forget them – a couple extra never killed anyone.

 

Some rooms are hot, some are cold. That’s life. Layer.

 

Suck everything you can out of the week, because it doesn’t happen for another year. I’ll try to take my own advice here: don’t be shy! Enjoy the people around you.

 

Well, I’m almost packed. I’m just waiting for the febreeze I flooded my luggage with to dry.

 

Water if sold is outrageously price. Bring a Nalgene.

 

So did i forget anything big? Let me know!

 

Hopefully I’ll have wonderful things to report this week!

4 Responses to “Off to Nationals”

  1. Unhinged (Andi) August 1, 2008 at 10:41 pm #

    Um, well, I’M looking forward to any tidbits you care to share. Don’t just drop a bean. Heh. Spill them ALL.

  2. briaq August 3, 2008 at 4:22 pm #

    Oh, Andi – so much to say…. The smart thing would be to sleep first and blog, but we’ll see 🙂

  3. Kaige August 4, 2008 at 3:09 pm #

    Glad you made it home safely! Sleep? *sigh* I guess I can wait…

    Nope. Especially not with RD going up and down like a window blind today. Grrrrrr…. Productivity? Whazzat? Not today.

  4. briaq August 4, 2008 at 3:14 pm #

    Hey Kaige – missed you 🙂

    OK, I’m on and I can’t get on RD so I’ll go post the goods here 🙂

Leave a Reply

