Summer Reads: MOON-SPINNERS by Mary Stewart

1 Jul

Mary Stewart is one of my all time favorite writers. An agent asked me to pick one and I picked three (the other two were Austen and Hardy) – one seemed so unfair.

 

My love affair with Ms. Stewart began when I was six. I grew up in the middle of no where and there wasn’t any cable or near by video rental (I hear you gasping) but every summer I was guaranteed of a couple of movies on the second dial channels (Hey, if you know what I mean, you know my age now lol) — The Beach Blanket movies (I said I was 6), Creature Double Feature and most of the 60’s Disney’s movies getting that “It’s been YEARS so we can show these for free” movies.

 

One of those Disney movies was Moon-spinners – and I watched for it every year. A young British girl in Greece, a handsome adventurer, a nasty bad buy and a hidden treasure. Really, need I say more?

 

Years later I picked up Ms. Stewart’s Merlin series (first book: The Crystal Cave) and searched frantically for more by her. When I found out she wrote my favorite childhood movie, it began a reading binge seldom seen in non-senior-year-finals-cram sessions.

 

Ms. Stewart inspires and impresses me with her timeless characters and amazing twists (which are often replciatated to the point of cliche now.) I highly recommend trying her out. She wrote my number one favorite Untrustworthy Narrator (If I told you which book, it would ruin it), some of my favorite plot twists, plays with the idea of never knowing who is truly the bad guy, and brings the ordinary into the extraordinary. Not only that, but she paints lavish word pictures in an amazingly short word count.

 

Ms. Stewart is an author worthy, not only of reading, but of studying.

 

This site isn’t by her, but two amazing fans. It’s worth checking out HERE.

3 Responses to “Summer Reads: MOON-SPINNERS by Mary Stewart”

  1. Jennie July 3, 2008 at 3:22 pm #

    Hi! Thanks for linking to marystewartnovels.com! So good to meet other Stewart fans. 🙂

    I definitely agree with “she paints lavish word pictures in an amazingly short word count.” I love Stewart’s clean writing style. I also wish more of her books had been made into movies!

  2. briaq July 3, 2008 at 5:34 pm #

    Definitely Jennie – I would love to see a bunch more made into movies — she’s so clean, like Hitchcock — and we lack that in so much of our movies and books now.

    Thanks for stopping by – I truly do love your site.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Summer Reads: MOON-SPINNERS by Mary Stewart - July 1, 2008

    […] Original post by briaq […]

Leave a Reply

