Summer Read: THIRTEEN REASONS WHY by Jay Asher

23 Jun

Welcome to my first day of Summer Reads! Monday thru Thursday I’ll be posting thoughts about some of my favorite YA or YA friendly books.  Jump in, comment, let me hear what yours are!

 

Every once in a while a book comes along that you feel you must, ABSOLUTELY MUST, recommend to everyone you know.

Jay Asher’s Thirteen Reasons Why is just such a book.

It walks through a long night and an even longer tale as Clay follows the heartbreaking tapes made by Hannah, the girl he’d been crushing on who killed herself.

He knows right away that everyone who was on the list of 13 to recieve the tapes was on there for a reason, but he can’t fathom why he was included.

Every chapter sucks you into the next as your heart breaks for Clay, Hannah and everyone else who has ever thought about giving up.

The intensity builds, but not in the “Legends-of-the-fall-what-can-they-do-next” way, but in a realistic and amazingly touchable way.

If you’ve read it, let us know what you think. If not – I HIGHLY recommend this book with one comment: It isn’t soft or easy, but it is amazing.

Grab a book and go read in the sunshine!

5 Responses to “Summer Read: THIRTEEN REASONS WHY by Jay Asher”

  1. sam sonsteng August 1, 2008 at 5:19 pm #

    this was possibly the best book ive ever read. i sat down on a sunday morning, and didnt get up till it was over. even then, i still layed there, trying to let it sink in. ive read it three times in the last week, and im on my way to the fourth. great book

  2. briaq August 3, 2008 at 4:28 pm #

    This is my “You must read this book” book. It says so much without preaching. It lets you inside not only an amazing male lead, but oddly enough a female lead at the same time. The way he uses italics to have more than one thing going on at the same time.

    And then there’s the amazing story itself. If you haven’t read this book, listen to Sam (and me) and go get it now.

  3. savvy October 17, 2008 at 12:15 pm #

    I’m reading it right now, I agree it is very engrossing and compelling.

  4. madison December 24, 2008 at 11:14 pm #

    Wow, I saw this book at the bookstore the other day and after I read the back it was the only one to catch my attention so i sat down and began to read it. Unfortunately I had no money on me and I had to leave. Now I am desperately searching to find as much of it online as I can, I just know this book will have a huge effect on me already. I cannot wait to read this book over and over again and I know I’ll think about it for a long, long time.

  5. briaq December 26, 2008 at 10:09 pm #

    Hey Madison – Thanks for stopping by. Since I wrote this blog post, I’ve noticed all the 13 Reasons negative hype. Parents who misunderstand the book completely and say it glorifies or lessens Hannah’s story to the determent of the point.

    Um, miss the point much lately?

    Hope you found a copy! Come back and let me know what you think….stop looking for spoilers, its one book worth letting it unfold before you 🙂

Leave a Reply

