For A Limited Time Only: The CVS Incident

15 Mar

So, I wanted a soda at lunch today and decided to run into CVS and get one.

When I got to the in there was one cashier working, a 90 year-old woman at the register and one person in front of me.

Unfortunately, the 90yow was writing a check. She had really shaky hands and it was obviously hard for her. But, when she was almost done. She realized she forgot to ask for cigarettes. So then she had to pull the check out and tear it up. This physically looked painful. Then she had to start the new check. At this point I’d probably been waiting about 7 mins. But what are you going to do? That’s going to be all of us some day (sans the cigarettes).

The cashier called for help about 4 times as the line behind me grew. The line was up to 6 people when a new register opened at the other end. I tapped the woman in front of me on the shoulder because she didn’t notice and pointed her down.

She had about 10 items and as she was wrapping up a huge man walked up behind her and went next.

There are now about 8 people in our (apparently invisible) line.

The woman behind me says, “Looks like you’re not next.”

The woman behind her says, “Figures.”

I say, “Nope. I’m not next. But there’s always one.”

The man doesn’t glance our way. The poor 90yow is still trying to write check number 2.

A third register opens up at about the 11 minute mark and I go to it.

The giant of a man comes over to me and says (very aggressively), “I was in the cards. How was I supposed to know how this works.”

SERIOUSLY? NO. REALLY. SERIOUSLY?

ME: “Well, just in case you ever have to go into a CVS again, if there are people standing in a straight line at the front of the store. It’s called a line and you’re supposed to wait at the end of it.”

Keep in mind, at this point there are like 10 people in the line. There is ZERO chance you could over look it. You know the saying, “A blind person would notice it” – well, they would, because you had to walkthroughthe line to get to stuff…which he did.

He starts yelling at me: “Yeah. I heard you talking about me (from the line he didn’t notice apparently) and you look like someone who goes in a lot of CVSs.”

I turn and look at him. WHAT DOES THAT EVEN MEAN???

ME: Well, this is good for you, because I’m sure you’ll end up somewhere else where there’s a line one day. And maybe you’ll get at the end of it.

At this point, I hear quiet applause from behind us, but when I turn around, everyone is looking away.

HIM: Yeah. I’m sure you stand in a lot of lines.

Again, WHAT DOES THAT MEAN????

So, he say, “I don’t have time for you. I’m in a rush.”

Obviously this is why he has jumped the cue. So he heads out the door.

Only when I get out there, he’s sitting in his car glaring at me come out. So great. Now I’m driving back to work with my finger on the last 1 in 911 and watching my rearview mirror.

So, whatever you do – do NOT mess with me.

I’m someone who has been in A LOT of CVSs.

4 Responses to “For A Limited Time Only: The CVS Incident”

  1. Kristen Koster (Kaige) March 15, 2012 at 10:55 pm #

    I’m glad I didn’t go into the CVS with you when we were up there. =)

    Boy… he’s gonna get a walk-on part some day, isn’t he? *snicker*

  2. briaq March 15, 2012 at 11:08 pm #

    I was just so confused… about how he thought that was okay, and how he thought he was right, and how he thought it made sense to be rude when he was wrong… and I DEFINITELY do not get the YOU LOOK LIKE comment *shakes head*

  3. Melinda VanLone March 16, 2012 at 10:44 am #

    Wow! lol. I’m so glad you said something to him, because how are stupid insensitive jerks going to learn that they are, indeed, stupid insensitive jerks if nobody tells them? At the same time, you shouldn’t have to fear for your life because you stood up for yourself in a CVS of all places.

    Hmmm…you look like you go to CVS and you look like the type who stands in a lot of lines. Hmmmm. *shakes head*. Doesn’t EVERYBODY do both of those things?

    He’s a classic bully. I bet he trolls on the internet too. He looks like the type ;-)

  4. briaq March 16, 2012 at 10:46 am #

    You know what? I OWN it.

    PEOPLE! *I* GO TO CVS. I do. I do and you can’t stop me ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

